Since my husband and I met, we knew that we would have a dog one day. Finally the time had come in 1985. A Nordic dog was what we wanted - we had seen the picture of an Eurasian dog and thought that this was exactly the kind of dog we wanted to become our new family member. After we had been waiting for 1½ years Chakan came into our family and from that time on we knew that a proper dog has to have small pointing ears and a "ring tail".

In the beginning of the nineties the world champion dog show was in Dortmund - what a day for a dog-fancier. There we saw THEM for the first time. Big, dark-faced, strong-boned... Today this kind of Akita is called American Akita. Immediately we were fascinated and we knew that one day an Akita bitch would follow when Chakan would have left us.

It seemed to be our fortune that Armin found a job in Japan in 1996/97 so why not bring a little bitch home while having the chance? Aisha go Takao-Kensha - small, light red, tiny and a real Akita lady. Don't-touch-me and oops-and-gone dog. Chakan was simply disgusted! Having learnt to get on with three children during all his years, which wasn't easy at all for him, he decided that this was too much! Two years later he saw another Akita dog arriving - Akiyoshi go Niigata Nakayou Kimura - before he died with almost 15 years. Unfortunately Yoshi only lived 1½ years - he died of cancer.

If you want to see how many dogs are currently living with us, please click yourself through our homepage. Their success in shows, puppy litters and many, many photos will tell you all about our passion for this extraordinary breed. Our motto is:


Once Akita - always Akita!

We wish you a good time with it
Sibylle Rother & Armin Hartmann-Rother


Translation by Heike Rommelmann

Seit mein Mann und ich uns kennen stand fest, daß bei uns irgendwann ein Hund einziehen würde. 1985 war es soweit. Ein Nordischer sollte es sein, wir sahen das Bild eines Eurasiers und fanden, so sollte unser neues Familienmitglied aussehen. Nach 1½ Jahre Wartezeit kam Chakan zu uns und von diesem Zeitpunkt an war klar, ein Hund hat spitze kleine Ohren und eine "Ringelrute".

Anfang der 90er fand in Dortmund die Welthundeausstellung statt, was für ein Ereignis für einen Hundefreund. Dort sahen wir SIE zum ersten Mal, groß, dunkle Maske, massig........heute heißen sie Amerikanischer Akita. Wir waren sofort fasziniert, eine Akitahündin würde mit Sicherheit irgendwann einmal Chakan's Nachfolgerin werden.

Wie das Schicksal manchmal so spielt, hatte Armin 1996/97 eine Stelle in Japan, und was lag da näher als eine kleine Hündin mitzubringen? Aisha go Takao-Kensha, klein, hellrot, zierlich und ganz Akitadame. Rühr-mich-nicht-an und hopp-und-weg Hund. Chakan war schlichtweg entsetzt, nachdem er sich im Laufe seines Lebens an drei Kinder gewöhnt hatte, was ihm nicht leicht fiel, wollte er mit diesem Junghund gar nichts mehr zu tun haben. Zwei Jahre später erlebte unser alter Herr noch die Ankunft eines Akitarüden, Akiyoshi go Niigata Nakajou Kimura, bevor er mit fast 15 Jahren starb. Leider wurde auch Yoshi nur 1½ Jahre alt, er hatte Krebs.

Wieviele Hunde heute mit uns leben, können Sie an anderer Stelle unserer Homepage verfolgen. Ihre Showerfolge, die Würfe und unzählige Fotos erzählen von unserer Leidenschaft für diese außergewöhnliche Rasse. Für uns gilt der Satz:


Einmal Akita - immer Akita!

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß dabei
Sibylle Rother & Armin Hartmann-Rother